Two thousand twenty was a rough year all around, but especially for musicians and performers who could no longer perform.  Many of them turned to live streaming gigs via social media and streaming platforms simply to keep in touch with their fans and just to keep making music.

Sammy Hagar; along with Vic Johnson, Michael Anthony, and Jason Bonham were a few of these musicians.

Hagar has compiled those “lockdown” performances into a new album titled “Lockdown 2020” set for a January 8 release.  The album includes music by The Who, David Bowie, Van Halen, Bob Marley, and AC/DC.

Proceeds from the sale of the album will be donated to various food banks around the country.

Hagar spoke on the project saying, “when we first started doing these lockdown sessions, it was only meant to stay in touch with the fans until we could get back out on the road again.  But as the weeks and months drew on, it also became a fun way to keep the band together, musically and creatively.”

“Lockdown 2020” tracklisting:
“Funkyh Feng Shui
“Won’t Get Fooled Again”
“Good Enough”
“Three Little Birds”
“Whole Lotta Rosie”
“For What it’s Worth”
“Keep A-Knockin’”
“Right Now”
“Don’t Tell Me What Love Can Do”
“Sympathy for the Human”

feature photo credit: By Simon Davison from Los Gatos, United States – P9030177, CC BY 2.0,