During the Cup Series race at Texas Motor Speedway on October 17, several drivers were complaining of vibrations in their cars even though crew chiefs assured their drivers that all of the lug nuts were tight.

In the post race inspection process, three Cup Series teams were found to have a single lug nut improperly secured. As a result of the infractions, the crew chiefs were fined $10,000 each.

Teams found to have an improperly secured lug nut are:
The Chip Ganassi Racing number one car driven by Kurt Busch with Matt McCall as crew chief
The Richard Childress Racing number eight driven by Tyler Reddick with Randall Burnett as crew chief
And for the second week in a row, the Joe Gibbs Racing number 18 driven by Kyle Busch with substitute crew chief Seth Chavka as crew chief. Regular crew chief Ben Beshore was suspended for this race after Busch’s number 18 was found to have two improperly secured lug nuts after The Roval.

Two teams were found to have an improperly secured lug nut in the Xfinity Series. The crew chiefs were fined $5,000 each for the infractions.

The two crews were:
The Joe Gibbs Racing number 19 car driven by Brandon Jones with Jeff Meendering as crew chief
The Stewart-Haas Racing number 98 car driven by Riley Herbst with Richard Boswell as crew chief