On May 27, iHeartRadio presented their annual music awards with Usher serving as host for the star-studded event with The Weeknd, Ariana Grande, Bruno Mars and Anderson. Paak – Silk Sonic, Dan + Shay, and Doja Cat all scheduled to perform from the Dolby Theater in Los Angeles. H.E.R., Demi Lovato, and Brandi Carlile are also scheduled to perform in a tribute to Sir Elton John who will be awarded the Icon Award.

This year the Music Awards will feature a number of new awards including some new fan voted categories. The iHeartRadio Music Awards reflect the most played artists and songs on iHeartRadio over the past year.

The Weeknd and Ariana Grande get the night of musical celebration started off with a performance before a live audience of masked up fans.

Usher called the sound of fans clapping and cheering a wonderful sound.

French Montanta presents the first award of the night for Best Collaboration to Megan The Stallion for her “Savage” remix with Beyonce.

Award winners Dan + Shay take the stage to perform their new single “Glad You Exist”.

The award for Alternative Rock Artist of the Year went the twenty one pilots. The duo also won the award for Alternative Rock Song of the Year for “Level of Concern”.

Silk Sonic; better known as Bruno Mars and Anderson. Paak, take the stage for a performance of “Leave the Door Open”.

Taylor Swift won the award for Pop Album of the Year for her album “folklore”.

LL Cool J presents the award for Male Artist of the Year to The Weeknd. LL Cool J anouncedd that The Weekend’s single “Blinding Lights” spent an entire year on the record chart.

Fellow British born artist Chris Martin presents the Icon Award to Sir Elton John. Along with many of the presenters tonight, Martin said it was so nice to see live people in the audience. Sir Elton said that performing before a live audience is the greatest feeling in the world. Lil Nas X also spoke on Sir Elton. H.E.R. started off the musical tribute with a performance of “Benny and the Jets” that included playing the red piano and her guitar. Brandi Carlile sang “Don’t Let the Sun Go Down on Me” and Demi Lovato concluded the musical tribute with “I’m Still Standing”.

Chris Martin called Sir Elton to the stage. Sir Elton thanked all of the performers who gave him tribute. He noted that radio is important; adding that it is exciting to hear yourself on the radio. He noted that he has had his time, but very glad people still play his music, but feels it is important to promote new artists.

Nelly presents the Hip-Hop Artist of the Year Award to 22 year old Roddy Ricch.

The award for Best New Artist goes to…
Country Artist: Gabby Barrett
Alternative Artist: Powfu

Latin Artist: Rawu Alejandro
Hip-Hop Artist: Roddy Ricch
R&B Artist: Snoh Aalegra
Pop Aritst: Doja Cat

Doja Cat takes the stage for a performance.

Dua Lipa is the Female Artist of the Year. She was the most streamed artist last year.

Robin Thicke presented the award for R&B Artist of the Year to H.E.R.

Host Usher takes the stage for a performance of a medley of songs.

Machine Gun Kelly presents the award for Song of the Year to The Weekend for “Blinding Lights”. The Weeknd said that the audience made him want to tour tomorrow. He noted that the “After Hours” are over and the Dawn is Coming!

The 2021 iHeartRadio Music Award winners:
Song of the Year: The Weeknd for “Blinding Lights”
Female Artist of the Year: Dua Lipa
Male Artist of the Year: The Weeknd
Best Duo or Group of the Year: Dan + Shay
Best Collaboration: Megan The Stallion with Beyonce on “Savage”
Best Pop Album: Taylor Swift for “folklore”
Best New Pop Artist: Doja Cat
Alternative Rock Album of the Year: “Tickets to My Downfall” by Machine Gun Kelly
Alternative Rock Song of the Year: “Level of Concern” by twent one pilots
Alternative Rock Artist of the Year: twenty one pilots
Best New Rock or Alternative Rock Artist: Powfu
Rock Album of the Year: “Power Up” by AC/DC
Rock Song of the Year: “Shame Shame” by the Foo Fighters
Rock Artist of the Year: The Pretty Reckless
Country Album of the Year: “What You See Ain’t Always What You Get” by Luke Combs
Country Song of the Year: “The Bones” by Maren Morris
Country Artist of the Year: Luke Combs
Best New Country Artist: Gabby Barrett
Dance Album of the Year: “Diple Presents Thonmas Wesley, Chapter 1: Snake Oil” by Diplo
Dance Song of the Year: “Roses” by SAINt JHN
Dance Artist of the Year: Marshmello
Hip-Hop Album of the Year: “My Turn” by Lil Baby
Hip-Hop Song of the Year: “The Box” by Roddy Ricch
Hip-Hop Artist of the Year: Roddy Ricch
Best New Hip-Hop Artist: Roddy Ricch
R&B Album of the Year: “Chilombo” by Jhene Aiko
R&B Song of the Year: “Go Crazy” by Chris Brown and Young Thug
R&B Artist of the Year: H.E.R.
Best New R&B Artist: Snoh Aalegra
Latin Pop or Reggaeton Album of the Year: “YHLQMDLG” by Bad Bunny
Latin Pop or Reggaeton Song of the Year: “Tusa” by Karol G and Micki Minaj
Latin Pop or Reggaeton Artist of the Year: J Balvin
Best New Latin Artist: Rauw Alejandro

Regional Mexican Album of the Year: “AYAYAY!” by Christian Nodal
Regional Mexican Song of the Year: “Se Me Olvido” by Christian Nodal
Regional Mexican Artist of the Year: Christian Nodal
Producer of the Year: Max Martin
Songwriter of the Year: Ashley Gorkey

In the Socially Fan Voted Awards:
Best Lyrics: “Adore You” by Harry Styles
Best Cover Song: “Adore You” by Lizzo
Best Fan Army: BTSArmy for BTS
Best Music Video: “Dynamite” by BTS
Social Star Award: Olivia Rodrigo
Favorite Music Video Choreography: Son Sung Deuk for BTS
TikTok Bop of the Year: “Blinding Lights” by The Weeknd
Titanium Song of the Year: “Blinding Lights” by The Weeknd
Titanium Artist of the Year: The Weeknd
Label of the Year: Republic Records