Now that the MLB season has concluded the Baseball Writers Association of America has turned their attention to the Hall of Fame and who to nominate for induction to The Hall in Cooperstown.

Once a player is deemed eligible for nomination into the Hall of Fame, he may remain on the ballot for 10 years.  Players must receive at least 75 percent of the total votes in order to become a member of The Hall. 

Players become eligible for nomination five years after they have retired from playing the game.

BBWAA members have until the end of the year to cast their ballots with the newest class of members revealed on January 26.

Eleven players have been named as nominees for the first time – Mark Buehrle, A.J. Burnett, Michael Cuddyer, Dan Haren, LaTroy Hawkins, Tim Hudson, Torii Hunter, Aramis Ramirez, Nick Swisher, Shane Victorino, and Barry Zito.

Curt Schilling, Roger Clemens, Barry Bonds, and Sammy Sosa return for a ninth appearance on the ballot.

The remaining list of nominees who are making multiple visits on the ballot are Omar Vizquel, Scott Roeln, Billy Wagner, Gary Sheffield, Todd Helton, Manny Ramirez, Jeff Kent, Andruw Jones, Andy Pettitte, and Bobby Abreu.

Currently the 2021 Class; as well as the 2020 class, of Hall of Famers is scheduled to be inducted in a ceremony at the Hall of Fame in Cooperstown, New York on July 25.  The 2020 list of nominees – Derek Jeter, Larry Walker, Ted Simmons, and Marvin Miller – were originally scheduled to have their induction ceremony earlier this year; but the Covid-19 pandemic has caused many lockdowns and postponements of events.