On August 20, MTV presented their annual Video Music Awards at Radio City Music Hall in New York City. The live television broadcast was simulcast on several channels plenty of digs at the current White House

Sean Mendes opened the show with a performance of his song “In My Blood”.

Kevin Hart and Tiffany Haddish presented the first award of the night for “Chun-Li” to Nicki Minaj for Best Hip-Hop Video.

Best New Artist Bazzi performs his song “Beautiful”.

Radio City Music Hall’s own Rockettes make an appearance.

The next ward of the night was for Best Pop Video went to Ariana Grange for “No Tears Left to Cry”.

Logic is joined by OneRepublic’s Ryan Tedder for a performance. The stage was filled with children wearing T-shirts that said “We are all Human Beings”.

Late night talk show host Jimmy Fallon introduces Panic! At the Disco who give a performance.

The Backstreet Boys present the award for Song of the Year after singing lyrics from the nominees to Post Malone with 21 Savage for “Rockstar”.

Two time MTV MVA nominee Jessie Rayez performs “Apple Juice”.

Nicki Minaj performs.

The award for Best Latin Video went to J Balvin “Mi Gente”.

New Artist nominee Hayley Kiyoko performed her song “Curious”.

Entertainer Jennifer Lopez performs a medley of her songs before DJ Khalid took the stage and roused the crowd to a standing ovation. Sean Mendes presented Lopez with the MTV VMA Vanguard Award. She is the first Latina to win the award. Lopez had a very long list of people that she thanked that she has worked with over the years.

MTV MVA winner Ariana Grande performs.

The award for Artist of the Year went to Camila Cabello.

Boy band PRETTYMUCH perform their song “Summer on You”.

The fan voted award for Best New Artist Award went to Cardi B.

DJ Khalid takes the stage to introduce Travis Scott who gives a performance.

Rapper Gucci Mane presents the award for Best Collaboration to Jennifer Lopez with DJ Khalid and Cardi B for “Dinero”.

Juice World performed “Lucid Dreams”.

The award for Video with a Message went to Childish Gambino for his video “This is America”.

Latin artist Maluma gives a performance.

After paying tribute to Aretha Franklin, Madonna presented the award for Video of the Year to Camila Cabello with Young Thug fo “Havana”.

Lauv performed “I Like Me Better”.

Lenny Kravitz introduces Post Malone and 21 Savage who perform his award winning song “Rockstar”.

Closing out the night of music and awards Steven Tyler and Aerosmith take the stage for a performance with Post Maline joining the band on guitar.

Awards not presented during the live television broadcast:
Push Artist of the Year: Hayley Kiyoko
Best Dance: Avicii with Rita Ora for “Lonely Together”

Best Rock: Imagine Dragons for “Whatever it Takes”
Best Cinematography: Benoit Debie for “Apes**t” by The Carters
Best Direction: Hiro Murai for “This is America” by Childish Gambino
Best Art Direction: Jan Houlevigue and The Louvre for“Apes**t” by The Carters
Best Visual Effects: Loris Paillier for “All the Stars” by Kendrick Lamar and SZA
Best Choreography: Sherrie Silver for “This is America” by Childish Gambino
Best Editing:Taylor Ward for “Lemon” by N.E.R.D & Rihanna
Song of Summer: “I Like It” by Cardi B, Bad Bunny, and J Balvin