Each season, the focus is on the Driver Point Standings and who will make it into the playoffs; but NASCAR also has a car owners championship and a car manufacturer’s championship.

After winning 19 of the 34 races run this season, more than Ford and Toyota combined, Chevrolet has locked up the 2022 manufacturer’s championship with two more races to go.  While there won’t be a repeat champion in the drivers’ championship, there is for the manufacturers with Chevrolet winning for the second year in a row to earn championship number 41.

U.S. vice president of performance and motorsports Jim Campbell for Chevrolet said, “we set goals of winning championships at the beginning of every season, and the NASCAR Cup Series Manufacturer’s Championship is one that’s a high priority.  This championship is a result of a one-team effort from Hendrick Motorsports, Richard Childress Racing, Trackhouse Racing, Petty GMS, Kaulig Racing, JTG Daugherty, and Spire Motorsports. We’d also like to thank the Chevrolet engineers, drivers, crew chiefs and owners who are part of this championship.”

Driving the Next Gen Camaro ZL1 Chase Elliott, Tyler Reddick, Kyle Larson, Ross Chastain, William Byron, Alex Bowman, Daniel Suarez, Austin Dillon, and Erik Jones combined to win 19 races driving a Chevrolet this season.  While he did not win a race, AJ Allmendinger driving a part time schedule for Kaulig Racing also contributed points on the way to Chevrolet’s championship.

In the Xfinity Series, Chevrolet notched win number 500 and also clinched the championship in the series.

Campbell noted, “it’s great to see the momentum by the Chevrolet teams in both the Cup and Xfinity series that’s resulted in manufacturers’ championships in both series in back-to-back years.”

With races at Martinsville and Phoenix remaining in the 2022 racing season, Chevrolet has an opportunity to add to their winning totals.