Earlier this season, Petty GMS Motorsports announced that Ty Dillon would not be returning to the team and the number 42 car for the 2023 season.  While Dillon’s future in NASCAR is currently unknown, Petty GMS made a special announcement on August 10 to reveal the new driver of the number 42 car.

Petty GMS has signed Xfinity Series driver Noah Gragson for next season.  Currently Gragson drives the number nine car for JR Motorsports where he, along with his three team mates are in the top 10 in the standings and is in fourth place in the point standings and has three race wins this season so far.    

Petty GMS recently signed their driver of the number 43 car, Erik Jones, to a contract extension.  Bringing in Gragson cements the team for at least the next year.

SwitcHing to the new Next Gen car will not be a major issue since he has been signed by Kaulig Racing as a part time driver of the number 16 Cup Series car for this season; along with Daniel Hemric and AJ Allmendinger.  He has made nine starts in the new car.

Prior to signing with JRM in 2019, Gragson drove for Kyle Busch Motorsports in the Camping World Truck Series.

While Dale Earnhardt Jr is losing one of his four phenoms next season, he has just secured the services of one of his drivers for next season.  Nineteen year old Sam Mayer will continue in the number one car on a full time basis for next season.  To date, he is the only JRM driver who has not won at least one race this season.

JRM general manager Kelly Earnhardt Miller spoke on Mayer saying, “we’ve seen tremendous growth and maturity from Sam on and off the racetrack.  He is consistently running upfront, is fast each and every week, and provides great visibility for his partners.  With all the situational knowledge he’s gained this year, I’m looking forward to seeing what he can do to finish out 2022 and into ’23.”

feature photo credit: Noah gragson (31168184486).jpg