On July 5 the Theater Hall of Fame announced the newest class of inductees.  The induction ceremony for the 51st annual Theater Hall of Fame for Lifetime Achievement in the American Theater will be held November 14 at the Gershwin Theater.

The 2022 Theater Hall of Fame class:
playwright Lynn Nottage
playwright Suzan-Lori Parks
actor Christine Ebersole
actor Bill Irwin
actor Mandy Patinkin
director Frank Galati
sound pioneer Abe Jacob
and a posthumous induction for playwright Ntozake Shange.

James M. Nederlander, Earl Blackwell, and Gerard Oestreicher created the Theater Hall of Fame in 1970.  Artists are eligible after 25 years of performance in a minimum of five production appearances; leaders  in Off-Broadway or a pioneer of regional theatre may also be eligible.