Since the 2022 NASCAR racing began, officials have handed down a number of suspensions to Cup Series teams for violating the rule book in relation to the Next Gen car and the single lug nut hub.

Teams charged with penalties have the right to appeal those penalties to a three member appeals panel. Earlier this season, that panel upheld one suspension penalty.

On March 16, two more penalties were upheld in separate events.

During the Daytona 500, the Kaulig Racing number 31 car driven by Justin Haley lost a wheel. Kaulig Racing appealed the four race suspension of crew chief Trent Owens, jackman Marshall McFadden, and tire changer Jacob Nelson. The appeals panel of Tom DeLoach, Dixon Johnston, and Dale Pinilis upheld that penalty.

In the second appeal, Front Row Motorsports appealed the suspension of crew chief Seth Barbour, and crew members Jourdan Osinskie and Tanner Andrews when the number 38 car driven by Todd Gilliland lost a wheel during the race at Auto Club Speedway in Fontana, California. The three member appeals panel of Hunter Nickell, Bill Mullis, and Kevin Whitaker also upheld the penalty issued by NASCAR.