It’s media day at Daytona as the teams get ready to begin the 36 race season.  It is also qualifying day for the pole position.

It has already been a very busy day for the racing teams.  After two practice sessions on Tuesday evening, NASCAR discovered that the teams were making some adjustments to the cars in an effort at looking for more speed.  The new Next Gen cars were designed to more resemble the cars sold to the average citizen. 

While NASCAR has promised some severe penalties for breaking the rules, for the moment officials issued a new ruling on the changes and opened the garage three hours earlier on Wednesday in order for teams to make appropriate adjustments.

Qualifying for the Daytona 500 is like no other race, the qualifying run the drivers make is to set only the front row.  The two dual races will set the remainder of the field.  Forty-two teams have made the trip to Daytona in hopes of earning one of 40 spots on the grid.

The first driver on the track for single lap qualifying is Daniel Hemric – the reigning Xfinity Series driver is running a part time schedule in the Cup Series this season while running full time in the Xfinity Series.  Hemric posted a time of 50.159 seconds – 179.429mph.

Rooke driver Harrison Burton puts the Wood Brothers number 21 car in the number one spot with a time of 50,139 seconds.

Ross Chastain makes a qualifying run of 50.051 seconds to take the top spot.

Chase Elliott was the first driver to break the 50 second mark with a time of 49.927 seconds.

Alex Bowman has started the 500 from the front row four times.  In round one of the qualifying run, he put up a time of 49. 870 seconds.

In his final year of full time racing, Aric Almirola was the first driver in a Ford to break 50 seconds with a time of 49.946 seconds.

William Byron is the third Hendrick Motorsports driver to break 50 seconds with a time of 49.765.

Reigning Cup Series champion Kyle Larson made it a Hendricks sweep with a time of 49.789 seconds.

Six open cars also made an attempt to qualify for the race; Jacques Villeneueve and Noah Gragson have secured spots in the Daytona 500.

In round two, only the top 10 drivers will run for the pole and number two starting spot.

William Byron
Kyle Larson
Alex Bowman
Chase Elliott
Aric Almirola
Ross Chastain
Martin Truex Jr
Harrison Burton
Denny Hamlin
Daniel Suarez

Daniel Suarez in the Trackhouse Racing number 99 car is the first driver out on the track to begin round two of pole qualifying.  He sets the mark at 50.106 seconds.

Denny Hamlin put up a time of 50.077 seconds.

Harrison Burton ran a time of 50.137 seconds.

Martin Truex Jr ran a lap of 49. 989 seconds.

Known as the “watermelon man” Ross Chastain ran a lap of 50.043 seconds.

Florida native Aric Almirola ran a lap of 49.854 seconds.

Chase Elliott is the first of the four Hendricks drivers and sets a time of 49.913 seconds.

Alex Bowman is looking to put his number 48 car on the front row for a fifth record setting time with a lap of 49.711 seconds.

Champion Kyle Larson puts his number five car on the pole with a time of 49.680.

The final driver on the track is William Bryon with a time of 49.765.

And for the fifth time, Alex Bowman puts his car on the front row next to pole sitter and team mate Kyle Larson.

The remainder of the field will be set on Thursday night with the two duel races.