In the early hours of Monday morning, the Court of Arbitration for Sport announced that the three judge panel had determined that 15 year old Russian figure skater Kamila Valieva will be allowed to skate in the women’s competition beginning on Tuesday.

Shortly after the announcement, the International Olympic Committee made the announcement that there would be no medal ceremonies where Valieva was involved. A full investigation into the entire doping issue surrounding Valieva will take place. While the Russian Anti-Doping Agency will be conducting the investigation, the IOC and the World Anti-Doping Agency can appeal the decision.

While the drama surrounding Kamila Valieva unfolded, there were a number of historic events taking place around the Olympic village.

On the heels of American Erin Jackson making history on the speddskating track, American Monobob bobsledders Kaillie Humphries and Elana Meyers Taylor became the first Americans to medal in the new sport. Getting her American citizenship less than two months before the games, former Canadian Olympican Kallie Humphries took home the gold with fellow American Elana Meyers Taylor earning the silver.

While both athletes have previously earned Olympic medals, it was a first in the new monobob event.

In the ice dance competition, French skaters Gabriella Papadakis and Guillaume Cizeron won the gold with a new world record. There were two American couples in the top five with Madison Hubbell and Zachary Donohue taking the bronze.

In the women’s aerials freestyle skiing, Xu Mengtao from host country China won the gold medal. The jump that included three somersaults brought China the first Chinese woman to win the event.The U.S. took home the bronze with Megan Nick’s jump.

In the men’s team ski jumping event, Austria took the gold medal.

Norway holds on the lead in gold medals with nine and continues their lead in the overall medal count with 21.

2022 Beijing Olympics February 11 medal count:
Norway – 21
ROC – Russian Olympic Committee – 18
United States – 16
Austria – 15
Germany – 15
Canada – 15
Netherlands – 12
Italy – 11
Sweden – 11
Japan – 11
France – 11
People’s Republic of China – 10
Switzerland – 8
Slovenia – 7
Republic of Korea – 5
Finland – 4
Australia – 4
Finland – 4
Hungary – 3
Czech Republic – 2
Belarus – 2
Poland – 1
New Zealand – 1
Slovakia – 1
Spain – 1
Latvia – 1
Poland – 1
Belgium – 1