After 400 entrants and over a dozen heats and qualifiers, the annual Chili Bowl Nationals concluded on January 15, 2022.

Christopher Bell took advantage of the time off from NASCAR to do some dirt track racing along with several of his fellow NASCAR drivers. Bell was looking for his fourth Chili Bowl victory in the final feature event; but fell just a bit short after starting the race from the pole and leading 36 of the 50 laps. Only two other drivers have ever won the Chili Bowl four times – Kevin Swindell has four wins; while Sammy Swindell leads all drivers with five wins.

Part time Camping World Truck Series driver Tanner Throson held on to win his first ever Chili Bowl midget race. Rico Abreu, Michael “Buddy” Kofoid, and Tanner carrick rounded out the top five.

Kyle Larson in sixth and Ricky Stenhouse in ninth were the other Cup Series regulars who finished in the top 10. Kyle Larson has won the race for the past two years and was looking for three in a row.

While Christopher Bell came up a little short in his bid to make history; history was made this year when Kaylee Bryson became the first female driver to ever compete in the Chili Bowl feature race. Not since the races were created in 1987 has a female driver been a part of the main race where she finished in 18th.

Other NASCAR drivers who competed in the 2022 Chili Bowl Nationals…

Chase Elliott ended up finishing the race in 19th place in his feature race after a big crash that sent him airborne. He exited the car uninjured.

Elliott Cup Series team mate Alex Bowman did not qualify for the main event.

Rocket Man Ryan Newman did not get past his feature race. And while he doesn’t have a Cup ride for 2022, Newman is looking to do some dirt track racing…and HAVE FUN!

Chase Briscoe fell one spot short of advancing to the B-feature and; as a result, did not get to run in the main feature race. He was involved in a crash on the firstl lap that Briscoe said damaged the front axle and right front shock on his car.

NASCAR driver J.J. Yeley ended up finishing eleventh in the E-feature.

Eighteen year old Carson Hocevar failed to make it out of the I-feature in his Chili Bowl debut. Hocevar drives for Niece Motorsports in the Camping World Truck Series.

Ryan Ellis failed to make it out of his feature race after fiinishing eleventh.

Making his Chili Bowl debut, Jesse Little finished ninth in his feature race and did not compete in the main event.

Not a NASCAR driver, Dillon Welch can frequently be seen at the track as one of the NBC and MRN reporters. Welch finished 22nd in the main feature race in his second career start of the Chili Bowl finals.