In 2021 the Baseball Writers Association of America failed to select anyone for induction into the Baseball Hall of Fame.

This week the newest list of nominees has been released and features13 first time nominees, 17 returning players including four nominees who are on the ballot for one final time.

Alex Rodriguez, David “Big Papi” Ortiz, Mark Teixeira, Tim Lincecum, Ryan Howard, Prince Fielder, and Jimmy Rollins are all on the ballot for the first time.  Carl Crawford, Justin Morneau, Joe Nathan, Jonathan Papelbon, Jake Peavy, and A.J. Pierzynski are also on the ballot for the Hall of Fame for the first time.

After being caught up in the steroid/PED scandals; Barry Bonds, Roger Clemens, Sammy Sosa, and Curt Schilling are all on the ballot for the tenth and final time.

Bobby Abreu, Mark Buehrle, Todd Helton, Tim Hudson, Torii Hunter, Andruw Jones, Jeff Kent, Andy Pettitte, Manny Ramirez, Gary Sheffield, Omar Vizquel and Billy Wagner round out the ballot list for 2022.

Writers who have been a part of the BBWAA for at least 10 years are eligible to vote.  Players must earn at least 75 percent of the total votes cast in order to be elected to the Hall of Fame.  Winners will be revealed on January 25.

The Hall of Fame induction ceremony is set of July 24, 2022 at the Hall of Fame in Cooperstown, New York.  Players from the Golden Days and Early Baseball Era named when those committees meet will also be inducted on July 24.