The weather conditions shortened the inaugural race at Circuit of the Americas on May 23 and brought with it the eleventh different race winner of the 2021 NASCAR Cup Series season. With Chase Elliott’s win, there are only five open spots remaining for the 16 playoff spots.

One of those remaining spots will go to the points leader at the end of the regular season if he is not among the race winners.

His consistent race finishes and accumulated stage points have kept Denny Hamlin at the top of the list despite his not crossing the finish line first yet this season. Over the 14 races this season, Denny Hamlin has racked up a total of 597 points, nearly 100 ahead of the second place driver William Byron who has 499 points.

With Chase Elliott’s win in the number nine Chevrolet, Chevrolet holds on to the manufacturers lead with 507 points, Ford follows in second with 494 points, and Toyota comes in third with 479 points.

The top 16 drivers in the playoffs are:
Denny Hamlin
William Byron – race winner
Kyle Larson – race winner
Joey Logano – race winner
Chase Elliott – race winner
Martin Truex Jr, – race winner
Ryan Blaney – race winner
Kevin Harvick
Brad Keselowski – race winner
Kyle Busch – race winner
Austin Dillon
Alex Bowman – race winner
Chris Buescher
Christopher Bell – race winner
Tyler Reddick
Michael McDowell – race winner