During the post race inspection process after the Drydene 400 at Dover International Speedway on May 16, four NASCAR Cup Series teams were found to have an infraction involving an improperly secured lug nut.

In each case, the crew chiefs were fined $10,000 each.

The Cup Series teams that were penalized are:
The Richard Childress Racing number eight car driven by Tyler Reddick with Randall Burnett as crew chief

The Roush Fenway Racing number 17 car driven by Chris Buescher with Luke Lambert as crew chief

The Hendrick Motorsports number 24 car driven by Willliam Byron with Rudy Fugle as crew chief

The JTG Daugherty Racing number 37 car driven by Ryan Preece with Trent Owens as crew chief

There were no penalties in the Xfinity Series.