At the end of the Buschy McBusch 400 at Kansas Speedway on May 1, the NASCAR Cup Series crowned its tenth winner of the 2021 season.

While the race winners will fill the spots in the playoffs first, the points winner at the end of the regular season will also earn a spot in the playoffs. Sixteen drivers will move on to the playoffs.

Denny Hamlin has yet to win a race this season, but continues to lead in the points standings with 481 points – 85 points ahead of second place driver Martin Truex Jr – the only driver to win two races this season.

With his race win in Kansas, Kyle Busch enters the top 10 at the number 10 spot.

Seven of the top 10 drivers in the points have won a race; the remaining three race winners are in the top 14.

In the manufacturers standings, Ford holds on to the lead by five points over Chevrolet iith 97 points.

The top 16 drivers in the standings on May 2 are:
Denny Hamlin
Martin Truex Jr
William Byron
Joey Logano
Ryan Blaney
Brad Keselowski
Chase Elliott
Kevin Harvick
Kyle Larson
Kyle Busch
Austin Dillon
Christopher Bell
Michael McDowell
Alex Bowman
Chris Buescher
Matt DiBenedetto