View Post

Racing at Talladega Superspeedway frequently brings numerous caution flags, big pile ups, and the occasional flying car.

Over the past weekend when the Xfinity and Cup Series drivers took to the high banked fast track, all of the above took place; but out of 80 cars only one team was charged with a penalty after the post-race inspection process.

After the overtime finish that brought the ninth different race winner of the season when Brad Keselowski crossed the finish line to earn the checkered flag, the number 18 Joe Gibbs Racing car driven by Kyle Busch was the only car found to have one lug nut improperly secured.

As a result of the safety violation, the number 18 crew chief Ben Beshore was fined $10,000.

While all 40 cars passed the post race inspection process, three Xfinity Series teams failed the pre-race inspection process multiple times and will have to forfeit their pit stall selections for the race a Darlington Raceway on May 8 – the Kaulig Racing number 16 car driven by AJ Allmendinger, the RSS Racing number 39 driven by Ryan Sieg, and the Joe Gibbs Racing number 54 which uses multiple drivers.  Ty Dillon drove the number 54 car at Talladega.