Denny Hamlin continues to lead the NASCAR Cup Series points standings with 379 points – 76 points in front of the second place driver.  Hamlin continues to lead the points standing despite not being among the seven race winners this season.

Over the weekend at Martinsville Speedway, Martin Truex Jr became the first driver to win more than one race and takes over the second place spot in the standings.

This week Brad Keselowski falls out of the top five but remains in the top 10.

While points count toward who will make the playoffs, drivers who have won at least one race will claim a spot in the playoffs first; the remainder of the 16 driver field will be comprised of drivers who top the points standings.

To date Joey Logano, Kyle Larson, William Byron, Ryan Blaney, Christopher Bell, and Michael McDowell have all won a race.  Martin Truex Jr is the first driver to win two races.

The points standings as of April 11 are:
Denny Hamlin
Martin Truex Jr
Joey Logano
Kyle Larson
Ryan Blaney
William Byron
Chase Elliott
Kevin Harvick
Brad Keselowski
Christopher Bell
Kyle Busch
Austin Dillon
Ricky Stenhouse Jr
Chris Buescher
Kurt Busch
Michael McDowell

Daytona 500 winner Michael McDowell is just four points in front of the 17th place driver Alex Bowman.