While it is still early in the NASCAR Cup Series season with seven of the 26 regular season races completed; it is shaping up to be a very interesting one with a different winner in all seven races.

Under normal circumstances, all the race winners would be guaranteed a spot in the playoffs.  But with seven different winners so far, the playoff scene is sure to get crowded.

At the end of the 26 regulars season races, the top 16 drivers will have their point totals reset to 2,000 points. 

Drivers receive one playoff point for each stage they win which travels with them throughout their time in the playoffs. 

Race winners will receive an additional five playoff points for each race win.  The top 10 drivers in the points will earn extra points beginning with 15  for the number one position down to one point for the tenth place driver.

Drivers earn points with race wins, stage wins, and finishing positions.

While he has yet to win a race this season, Denny Hamlin holds on to the top spot in the playoffs with three stage wins and 327 points.

The top 16 Cup Series drivers in the standings are:
Denny Hamlin
Joey Logano – race winner
Martin Truex Jr – race winner
Kyle Larson – race winner
Brad Keselowski
William Byron – race winner
Ryan Blaney – race winner
Kevin Harvick
Chase Elliott
Christopher Bell – race winner
Austin Dillon
Michael McDowell – race winner
Kyle Busch
Ricky Stenhouse Jr
Kurt Busch
Alex Bowman