Over the past several years, getting enshrined into the Baseball Hall of Fame has gotten much harder after the rash of players were caught in a Performance Enhancing Drug scandal.  And most recently, off the field activities have also come into question.

On January 26, 2021, the Baseball Writers Association of America released the news that there would be no new players enshrined into The Hall this year despite an impressive list of eligible players.  A record 14 voters failed to cast a single vote; mailing in blank ballots.

The last time the BBWAA failed to induct anyone into the Hall of Fame since 2013 and the 19th time in the BBWAA’s history.

In order to be inducted into The Hall, a player must receive at least 75 percent of the vote.  Pitcher Curt Schilling came the closest to making it in, coming 16 votes shy or 71.1 percent of the needed number of votes.

Schilling posted a request on Facebook that his name be removed from the list of eligible players next year. 

Hall of Fame Board Chairman Jane Forbes Clark said they, “will consider the request at our next meeting.”

With one more year of eligibility remaining Barry Bonds and Roger Clements received 61 perfect of the vote.

After the 2020 induction was postponed because of the Covid-19 pandemic, the Hall of Fame will induct the 2020 class this summer where Derek Jeter, Larry Walker, Ted Simmons, and Marvin Miller will be enshrined.

The BBWAA bases the possible induction of players based on their prowess on the field and contributions to the team; as well as, their integrity, sportsmanship, and character.