The annual Grammy Award ceremonies are still over a month away, but the Recording Academy has issued some Special Awards including Lifetime Achievement, Trustee, and Technical Grammy Awards.

Recording engineer Ed Cherney, Jazz legend Benny Golson, and eleven time Grammy Award winner Kenny “Babyface” Edmonds have all been named Trustee Award winners; with digital pioneer Daniel Weiss receiving the Technical Grammy Award.

The 2021 Lifetime Achievement Award winners are Hip-Hop pioneers Grandmaster Flash & The Furious Five, Jazz percussionist Lionel Hampton, opera singer Marilyn Horne, female rap pioneers Salt-N-Pepa, Tejano artist Selena, and New Wave pioneers  the Talking Heads.

The Special Merit and Lifetime Achievement awards are presented to artists and industry members who make outstanding contributions in the field of music.

The recipients will be honoured as a part of the 63rd annual Grammy Award ceremonies on January 31, 2021.

Interim Recording Academy President Harvey Mason Jr spoke on the new honourees saying, “as we welcome the new class of Special Merit Award honorees, it gives us a chance to reward and recognize the influence they’ve had in the music community regardless of genre.  As a music creator and music lover, I am grateful that we are able to look back at our influences and see the impact that they have made on our community. In a year where music has helped keep us together, I look forward to honoring this iconic group of music creators.”

In other Grammy and Recording Academy news, the Grammy Hall of Fame has inducted some new members.  The 29 recordings being inducted into the Hall of Fame and Grammy Museum will join the more than 1,000 recordings already in the Hall of Fame.  The new inductees were released at least 25 years ago and represent historical significance and contributions to music.

Interim Recording Academy President Harvey Mason Jr spoke on the newest inductees saying, “we are proud to announce this year’s diverse roster of Grammy Hall Of Fame inductees and to recognize recordings that have shaped our industry and inspires music makers of tomorrow.  Each recording has had a significant impact on our culture, and it is an honor to add them to our distinguished catalog.” 
The 2021 Grammy Hall of Fame Inductees are:
“Au Clair de la Lune” by Édouard-Léon Scott De Martinville
“Clean Up Woman” by Betty Wright
“Copenhagen” by Fletcher Henderson and His Orchestra
“Don’t Stop Believin’” by Journey
“Freight Train” by Elizabeth Cotton
“Solitude” by Billie Holiday
“The Gambler” by Kenny Rogers
“Time is on My Side” by Irma Thomas
“We are the World” by USA for Africa (charity single by Various Artists)
“When the Levee Breaks” by Kansas Joe and Memphis Minnie
“Wreck of the Old 97” by Vernon Dalhart
“Y.M.C.A.” by the Village People

“Blues Breakers” by John Mayall with Eric Clapton
“Canciones de Mi Padre” by Linda Ronstadt
“Greetings from Asbury Park, N.J.” by Bruce Springsteen
“Horses” by Patti Smith
“Hot Buttered Soul” by Isaac Hayes
“In the Right Place” by Dr. John
“Licensed to Ill” by the Beastie Boys
“Mad Dogs and Englishmen” by Joe Cocker
“Mercy, Mercy, Mercy! Live at ‘The Club’” by The Cannonball Adderley Quintet
“Ravel: Piano Concerto in C Major” by Leonard Bernstein with The Philharmonia Orchestra Of London
“Schoenberg: The Four String Quartets” by the Kolisch String Quartet
“So” by Peter Gabriel
“Ten” by Pearl Jam
“Texas Flood” by Stevie Ray Vaughan and Double Trouble
“The Cars” by the Cars
“The Low End Theory” by A Tribe Called Quest
“Trio” by Dolly Parton, Linda Ronstadt, Emmylou Harris”