On November 24 the NFL Hall of Fame announced the semifinalists who are eligible for induction into the Hall of Fame.

A player becomes eligible for nomination into the Hall of Fame five years after they have retired from playing.

Among the nominees are the player who are eligible for the first time – quarterback Peyton Manning, wide receiver Calvin Johnson, safety Charles Woodson, and defensive end Jared Allen.

Eric Allen, Willie Anderson, Cornelius Bennett, and Rodney Harrison are also on the list for the first time.

They will be joined by returning players to the nominee list:
tackle Willie Anderson
cornerback and safety Ronde Barber
tackle Tony Boselli
safety LeRoy Butler – inventor of the Lambeau Leap
guard Alan Faneca
wide receiver Torry Holt
safety John Lynch
linebacker Clay Matthews
linebacker Sam Mills
defensive end and tackle Richard Seymour
wide receiver Steve Tasker
running back Fred Taylor
linebacker Zach Thomas
wide receiver Hines Ward
wide receiver Reggie Wayne
linebacker Patrick Willis
safety Darren Woodson
defensive tackle Bryant Young

On the Saturday before the Super Bowl in February, 15 of the semi finalists will be presented to the Hall of Fame Selection Committee along with senior finalist Drew Pearson, contributor Bill Nunn, and coach finalist Tom Flores.  The Committee will determine which of the players will become the newest members to the Hall of Fame.

Between four and eight of the finalists will be named as the newest Hall of Famers.

Virus protocols permitting, the induction ceremony is scheduled to be held in Canton, Ohio – the site of the Hall of Fame -on August 8; the culmination of a week of Hall of Fame celebrations.