The 2020 racing season certainly has been one like no other, a season for the record books.

Along with the doubleheader weekends, empty stands, and pandemic rules; the NASCAR Silly Season is in full swing with a retiring legend, teams closing down, and driving on the move.

Before the season even started, seven time NASCAR champion Jimmie Johnson announced that the 2020 NASCAR racing season would be his last as a full time driver in NASCAR.  Hendrick Motor Sports owner Rick Hendrick has not named a replacement for the retiring driver.

After Leavine Family Racing announced that they were selling the team, and closing their operations at the end of the season, Christopher Bell found himself out of a ride.

Joe Gibbs Racing announced that they the driver of the number 20 car Erik Jones would not be returning to the team next season.

JGR has named Christopher Bell as the new driver of the number 20 car.

Matt Kenseth replaced Kyle Larson in the number 42 Chip Ganassi Racing car after Lawson was dismissed for violating the NASCAR rule book.  Kenseth has stated that it is unlikely that he will return to the 42 car…or Cup racing…next season.  It is unknown at this point as to who will be driving the number 42 car next season.

Bubba Wallace has announced that he will not be returning to drive the Richard Petty Motorsports number 43 car next season.  RPM has not named a replacement nor has Wallace stated where he will be driving next season.

Corey LaJoie has announced that he will not be returning to drive the number 32 Go Fas Racing car next season.  LaJoie has not stated where he will going next season; nor has GFR announced a replacement for LaJoie.

Daniel Suarez has recently announced that he will be returning to drive the Gaunt Brothers Racing number 95 car next season.  GBR has not yet named a replacement driver; nor has Suarez announced where he will be going next season.

Spire Motorsports purchased Leavine Family Racing and will be fielding a second car next season.  The driver and number for the new car have yet to be announced.

Rick Ware Racing has purchased the charter for Premium Motorsports and will be fielding the number 15 and 27 cars.  While Brennan Poole, Joey Gase, JJ Yeley, Reed Sorenson, and Garrett Smithley have all driven for Rick Ware Racing; it has not been revealed whether RWR will continue to use part time drivers or name two full time drivers for their cars.

Quin Houff currently drives for StarCom Racing and Timmy Hill currently drives for MBM Motorsports; but it is unknown at this time whether or not the teams will be returning next season, depending on sponsorships.