With the turning over of the calendar to a new year,various music organizations reveal the nominees for a variety of music awards.

The Blues Music Awards have released the nominees for the 41st annual awards ceremonies in Memphis, Tennessee. The winners will be announced at a gala event on May 7.

Rick Estrin & The Nightcats lead the list of nominations with eight. Christone “Kingfish” Ingram, Brilly Branch, Sugaray Rayford, and the Cash Box Kings also garnered multiple awards.

The diverse group of nominees have seen their music on charts more than just the Blues.

Nominees for the 41st annual Blues Music Awards:

Acoustic Blues Album:
“Catfish Crawl” by Catfish Keith
“Confessin’ My Dues” by Terry Robb
“Good as Your Last Dollar” by Fruteland Jackson
“Solo Ride” by Bruce Katz
This Guitar and Tonight” by Bob Margolin

Acoustic Blues Artist of the Year:
Eric Bibb
Guy Davis
Rhiannon Giddens
Fruteland Jackson
Doug MacLeod

Album of the Year:
“Church of the Blues” by Watermelon Slim
“Hail to The Kings!” by The Cash Box Kings
“Kingfish” by Christone “Kingfish” Ingram
“The Preacher, The Politician or The Pimp” by Toronzo Cannon
“Roots and Branches: The Songs of Little Walter” by Billy Branch and the Sons of Blues

B.B. King Entertainer of the Year:
Billy Branch
Rick Estrin
Sugaray Rayford
Bobby Rush
Mavis Staples

Band of the Year:
The Cash Box Kings
The Nick Moss Band featuring Dennis Gruenling
Rick Estrin and the Nightcats
Southern Avenue
Sugaray Rayford Band

Best Emerging Artist Album:
“Before Me” by Ben Levin
“Folie a deux” by Hudspeth & Taylor
“Kingfish” by “Christone “Kingfish” Ingram
“Spectacular Class” by Jontavious Willis
“Through My Eyes” by John “Blues” Boyd

Blues Rock Album:
“Killin’ it Live” by Tommy Castro & The Painkillers
“Masterpiece” by Albert Castiglia
“Reckless Heart” by Joanne Shaw Taylor
“Survivor Blues” by Walter Trout
“Up and Rolling” by the North Mississippi Allstars

Blues Rock Artist:
Albert Castiglia
Tommy Castro
Tinsley Ellis
Eric Gales
Walter Trout

Contemporary Blues Album:
“Contemporay” by Rick Estrin and The Nightcats
“Don’t Pass Me By: A Tribute to Sean Costello” by Various Artists
“Kingfish” by “Christone “Kingfish” Ingram
“The Preacher, The Politician or The Pimp” by Toronzo Cannon
“Vernom & Faith” by Larkin Poe

Contemporary Blues Female Artist:
Diane Blue
Vanessa Collier
Shemekia Copeland
Samantha Fish
Janiva Magness

Contemporary Blues Male Artist:
Toronzo Cannon
Gary Clark Jr
Luther Dickinson
Rick Estrin
Christone “Kingfish” Ingram

Bass Instrumentalist:
Willie J. Campbell
Patrick Rynn
Bill Stuve
Larry Taylor
Michael “Mudcat” Ward

Drums Instrumentalist:
Tony Braunagel
Cedric Burnside
June Core
Derrick D’Mar Martin
Kenny “Beedy Eyes” Smith

Guitar Instrumentalist:
Christoffer “Kid” Andersen
Laura Chavez
Christone “Kingfish” Ingram
Junior Watson
Monster” Mike Welch

Harmonica Instrumentalist:
Billy Branch
Rick Estrin
Dennis Gruenling
Brandon Santini
Kim Wilson

Horn Instrumentalist:
Mindi Abair
Jimmy Carpenter
Vanessa Collier
Trombone Shorty
Nancy Wright

Pinetop Perkins Piano Player of the Year:
Anthony Geraci
Bruce Katz
Dave Keyes
Jim Pugh
Victor Wainwright

Vocals of the Year:
Shemekia Copeland
Sugaray Rayford
Curtis Salgado
Mavis Staples
Dawn Tyler Watson

Song of the Year:
“Bleach Blonde Bottle Blues” written by Rebecca Lovell
“Lucky Guy” written by Nick Moss
“Resentment File” written by Rick Estrin, Joe Louis Walker, and JoJo Russo
“Time To Get Movin’” written by Eric Corne
“The Wine Talkin’” written by Joe Nosek, John Hahn, and Oscar Wilson

Soul Blues Album:
“Dog Eat Dog” by Billy Price
“Keep on” by Southern Avenue
“Real Street” by Tad Robinson
“Sitting on Top of the Blues” by Bobby Rush
“Somebody Save Me” by Sugaray Rayford”

Soul Blues Female Artist:
Annika Chambers
Thornetta Davis
Bettye LaVette
Terrie Odabi
Vaneese Thomas

Soul Blues Male Artist:
Billy Price
Sugaray Rayford
Tad Robinson
Curtis Salgado
Wee Willie Walker

Traditional Blues Album:
Church of the Blues” by Watermelon Slim
“Hail to the Kings!” by The Cash Box Kings
“Lucky Guy!” by The Nick Moss Band Featuring Dennis Gruenling
“Roots and Branches: The Songs of Little Walter” by Billy Branch & the Sons of Blues
“Spectacular Class” by Jontavious Willis

Traditional Blues Female Artist:
Rory Block
Sue Foley
Mary Lane
Trudy Lynn
Teeny Tucker

Traditional Blues Male Artist:
Lurrie Bell
Billy Branch
John Primer
Jimmie Vaughan
Jontavious Willis


feature photo taken from Blues Foundation Facebook page