On January 2 the Pro Football Hall of Fame revealed the 15 finalists who would be considered for induction into the Hall of Fame in Canton, Ohio in August. Nearly half of the list includes players who are on the list for the first time.

This year a total of 20 people will be inducted into the Hall as the Class of 2020 – five modern era players, 10 senior players (played more than 25 years ago), three contributors, and two coaches.

In order to become a member of the Hall of Fame a player must receive at least 80 percent of the vote from the selection committee and have been retired from playing the game for at least five years.

The finalists were selected from a list of 122 eligible players that were cut down to 25 before the final 15 were selected.

And the finalists are:
Denver Broncos and New York Jets safety Steve Atwater
Jacksonville Jaguars tackle Tony Boselli
Los Angeles/St. Louis Rams and San Francisco 49ers wide receiver Isaac Bruce
Green Bay Packers safety LeRoy Butler
Pittsburgh Steelers, New York Jets, and Arizona Cardinals guard Alan Faneca
St Louis Rams and Jacksonville Jaguars wide receiver Torry Holt
Seattle Seahawks, Minnesota Vikings, and Tennessee Titans guard Steve Hutchinson
IndianapolisColts, ArizonaCardinals, and Seattle Seahawks running back Edgerrin James
Tampa Bay Buccaneers and Denver Broncos safety John Lynch
New Orleans Saints and Carolina Panthers linebacker Sam Mills
Pittsburgh Steelers safety Troy Polamalu
New England Patriots and Oakland Raiders defensive end and tackle Richard Seymour
Miami Dolphins and Dallas Cowboys linebacker Zach Thomas
Indianapolis Colts wide receiver Reggie Wayne
San Francisco 49ers defensive tackle Bryant Young

While LeRoy Butler, Torry Holt, Sam Mills, Troy Polomalu, Zach Thomas, Reggie Wayne, and Bryant Young are on the list for the first time; this marks the seventh year that John Lynch has made the finals but failed to garner enough votes for induction into the Hall of Fame.