As a part of the centennial celebration of professional football in the United States, the Pro Football Hall of Fame will name a special Centennial Class to The Hall.

A special “Blue-Ribbon Panel” will determine which 15 players, coaches, and contributors will be selected out of the more than 300 who were originally considered.

The panel will meet early in January to determine which of the finalists will be named to the “Centennial Slate”.

The finalists are:
St. Louis Cardinals coach Don Coryell
Pittsburgh Steelers coach Bill Cowher
Oakland/Los Angeles Raiders and Seattle Seahawks coach Tom Flores
Green Bay Packers and Seattle Seahawks coach Mike Holmgren
Dallas Cowboys and Miami Dolphins coach Jimmy Johnson
Chicago Cardinals, Detroit Lions, and Pittsburgh Steelers coach Buddy Parker
Denver Broncos, New York Giants, and Atlanta Falcons coach Dan Reeves
Philadelphia Eagles, St. Louis Rams, and Kansas City Chief coach Dick Vermeil
Houston Oilers/Tennessee Titans owner Bud Adams
Canton Bulldogs owner Ralph Hay
Philadelphia Eagles, Washington Redskins, Dallas Cowboys, and New England Patriots Scout, General Manager, and Executive Frank “Bucko” Kilroy
National Football League Official and Administrator Art McNally
Cleveland Browns/Baltimore Ravens owner Art Modell
Dallas Cowboys Founder and owner Clint Murchison
NFL Films Administrator and President Steve Sabol
Elias Sports Bureau Owner and President Seymour Siwoff
former NFL Commissioner Paul Tagliabue
Baltimore Colts, Miami Dolphins, New York Giants, and NFL contributor and general manager George Young
Oakland/Los Angeles Raiders wide receiver Cliff Branch
Philadelphia Eagles and Dallas Cowboys wide receiver Harold Carmichael
Chicago Bears tackle Jim Covert
Sam Framcisco 49ers, Los Angeles Raiders, and Minnesota Vikings running back Roger Craig
Green Bay Packers safety Bobby Dillon
Milwaukee Badgers and Green Bay Packers (all around) end LeVern Dilweg
Portsmouth Spartans/Detroit Lions and Brooklyn Dodgers guard, linebacker, and center Ox Emerson
Denver Broncos linebacker Randy Gradishar
Dallas Cowboys safety Cliff Harris
New York Jest and Los Angeles Rams tackle Winston Hill
Green Bay Packers halfback and defenisive back Cecil Isbell
Detroit Lions defensive tackle Alex Karras
Green Bay Packers and New York Yankees halfback Verne Lewellen
Atlanta Falcons linebacker Tommy Nobis
Dallas Cowboys wide receiver Drew Pearson
Pittsburgh Steelers safety Donnie Shell
Milwaukee Badgers, Rock Island Independents, and Chicago Cardinals tackle Duke Slater
Cleveland Brown end Mac Speedie
Chicago Bears defensive end and linebacker Ed Sprinkle
Phil-Pitt and Philadelphia Eagles offensive and defensive tackle and guard Al Wistert

The modern era players who are eligible will be revealed in January. Those players will also include the finalists for enshrinement in the 2020 class of the Hall of Fame.