It seems like the NASCAR season has barely started and it’s almost time for the annual All Star race in Charlotte at Charlotte Motor Speedway.\ on May 18.

In a preview of the next generation car due out in 2021, NASCAR is adding two new technical elements to the cars in the All Star race – a single piece carbon fiber spitter and a radiator exit duct in the roof.

The year the All Star race will be five laps longer, making the race 85 laps instead of 80. The race will be divided into four stages – 30, 20, 20, and 15 laps with both green and yellow flag laps counting in stages one through three and only green flag laps counting in stage four. Overtime race rules will also be in play for the race.

The drivers are racing for a $1 million prize.

Prior to the main race is the Monster Energy Open three stage race with two 20 lap stages and one 10 lap stage. The winner in each stage earns a spot n the main all Star race.

Drivers are eligible for the Monster Energy All Star Race if they have won a points race during the 2018 season, former All Star race winners, or previous Cup champions. Drivers must be full time Series drivers in order to be able to run in the race.

A driver can also make into the All Star race via a fan vote. Fans may cast their votes via

So far 15 drivers are eligible to run in the All Star race:
Aric Almirola
Ryan Blaney
Clint Bowyer
Kurt Busch
Kyle Busch
Austin Dillon
Chase Elliott
Denny Hamlin
Kevin Harvick
Jimmie Johnson
Erik Jones
Brad Keselowski
Joey Logano
Ryan Newman
Martin Truex Jr.