For many years, “Soul Train” hosted by Don Cornelius was R&B’s answer to the pop oriented “American Bandstand” with Dick Clark. The Soul Train Awards celebrate the best in R&B, Soul, and HipHop music.

The annual awards gala will be held on November 17 in Los Angeles for airing on the new BET Network, BET HER on November 25.

Tisha Campbell and Tichina Arnold will share the hosting duties for this year’s award ceremonies.

New R&B star H.E.R tops the list with seven nominations. Award winning artist Bruno Mars and Cardi B tie for six nominations each. SZA, Ella Mai, and Daniel Caesa also earned multiple award nominations.

Along with the usual presentations, the Soul Train Awards is presenting two special awards this year…
Grammy Award winning entertainer Erykah Badu will receive the Legend Award.
Grammy Award inning singer will receive the Lady of Soul Award.

The nominees or the 2018 Soul Train Awards:
Best New Artist:
Daniel Caesar
Jorja Smith
Kali Uchis
Leon Thomas
Queen Naija

Soul Train Certified Award:
Jorja Smith
Lenny Kravitz

Best R&B or Soul Female Artist:
Ella Mai
Mariah Carey

Best R&B or Soul Male Artist:
Bruno Mars
Childish Gambino
Daniel Caesar
John Legend

Best Gospel or Inspirational Award:
Andra Day
Kirk Franklin
Snoop Dogg
Tori Kelly

Best Hip-Hop Song of the Year:
“I Like It” by Cardi B with Bad Bunny and Balvin
“This is America” by Childish Gambino
“No Brainer” by DJ Khaled with Justin Bieber, Chance the Rapper, and Quavo
“In My Feelings” by Drake
“Apeshit” by The Carters

Song of the Year:
“Finesse” by Bruno with Cardi B
“Boo’d Up” by Ella Mai
“Every Kind of Way” by H.E.R.
“The Weekend” by SZA
“Come Over” by The Internet

Album or Mixtape of the Year:
“The Kids are Alright” by Chloe X Halle
“Heartbreak on a Full Moon” by Chris Brown
“H.E.R.” by H.E.R.
“Good Thing” by Leon Bridges
“War & Leisure” by Miguel
“Hive Mind” by The Internet

The Ashford and Simpson Songwriter’s Award:
“Finesse” by Bruno Mars with Cardi B
“Summertime Magic” by Childish Gambino
“Best Part” by Daniel Caesar with H.E.R.
“Boo’d Up” by Ella Mai
“Focus” by H.E.R.
“Broken Clocks” by SZA

Best Dance Performance:
“Finesse” by Bruno Mars with Cardi B.
“Tempo” by Chris Brown
“Level Up” by Ciara
“Walking Trophy” by HoodCelebrityy
“Made for Now” by Janet Jackson with Daddy Yankee

Best Collaboration Performance:
Bruno Mars and Cardi B for “Finesse”
Daniel Caesar and H.E.R. For “Best Part”
John Legend and BloodPop for “A Good Night”
Khalid, Ty Dolla $ign, and 6lack for “OTW”
SZA and Kendrick Lamar for “Doves in the Wind”

Video of the Year:
“Finesse” by Bruno Mars with Cardi B
“Boo’d Up” by Ella Mai
“Avenue” by H.E.R.
“Broken Clocks” by SZA
“Come Over” by The Internet

feature photo credit: by Unknown –