Last weekend the NASCAR’s Monster Energy Cup Series concluded their regular season with a rain soaked weekend and the Brickyard 400 from Indianapolis on Monday.

This weekend the Series travels to Las Vegas for the first race in round one of the 10 race playoffs. Sixteen drivers will compete for the title of 2018 Monster Energy Cup Series champion.

Unlike any other sport NASCAR does not eliminate other participants during the playoffs, but allows all drivers to run the races and attempt to win.

Kyle Busch was crowned the winner of the regular season. With five race wins this season, Busch is in the top spot as the playoffs begin in his home town of Las Vegas. This is the first time that the playoff season has begun in Las Vegas.

For the first three races of the playoffs…
Kyle Busch
Kevin Harvick
Martin Truex Jr
Brad Keselowski
Clint Bowyer
Joey Logano
Kurt Busch
Chase Elliott
Ryan Blaney
Erik Jones
Austin Dillon
Kyle Larson
Denny Hamlin
Aric Almirola
Jimmie Johnson
and Alex Bowman
…will all compete for the 12 spots in the next round.