On November 21 the Baseball Writers Association of America (BBWAA) released the list of nominees for the 2023 Baseball Hall of Fame; there are 14 new names on the ballot joining the returning players on the list.

In the past, several players have been left off the list of Hall of Fame inductees due to the steroid scandal.  The cheating scandal that embroiled the Houston Astros a few years ago will be the next test as to whether a player will earn enough votes to be inducted into the Hall of Fame.

A player must earn 75 percent of the votes cast in order to be inducted into the Hall of Fame.

Carlos Beltran, John Lackey, Jared Weaver, R.A. Dickey, Huston Street, Francisco Rodriguez, Bronson Arroyo, Jacoby Ellsbury, Jayson Werth, Mike Napoli, J.J. Hardy, Jhonny Peralta, Andre Ethier, and Matt Cain will all see their names added to the Hall of Jacoby Ellsbury, Jayson Werth, Mike Napoli, J.J. Hardy, Jhonny Peralta Fame nominee list for the first time.

Among the returning name to the list of nominees are Scott Rolen, Todd Helton, Bill Wagner, Andruw Jones, Gary Sheffield, Alex Rodriguez, Jeff Kent, Manny Ramirez, Omar Vizquel, Andy Pettitte, Jimmy Rollins, Bobby Abreu, Mark Buehrle, and Torii Hunter.

Last year was the last chance on the ballot for Barry Bonds, Roger Clemmons, and Kurt Schilling; but they have made a return to the list as a part of the Contemporary Era list to earn a spot into the Hall of Fame.  While all three players have shown enough prowess on the field to earn their way into The Hall; a tie to the steroid scandal has kept them from earning a spot in Cooperstown.  The Committee will meet next month to decide which players on the Contemporary Era list will get into the Hall of Fame.

The newest members of the MLB Hall of Fame will be announced on January 24.

The 2023 Hall of Fame induction ceremony is scheduled to be held on July 23 in Copperstown.