The races at Bristol Motor Speedway this past weekend had playoff implications for all three series. In the Camping World Truck Series it was the beginning of a new round in the playoffs, for the Xfinity Series it was the end of the regular season, and for the Cup Series it marked the end of the first round of playoffs and the first eliminations.


After winning the UNOH 200 at Bristol Motor Speedway, Ty Majeski has secured himself a spot in the final four at Phoenix in November.


Currently Ty Majeski, Chandler Smith, Zane Smith, and Stewart Friesen are above the cut line; while John Hunter Nemechek, Christian Eckes, Grant Enfinger, and Ben Rhodes are below the cut line and are in danger of elimination.



During the Food City 300 on Friday night, AJ Allmendinger earned enough points to win the regular season championship in the Xfinity Series.


Noah Gragson earned his sixth race win of the season…and his record setting third in a row to become the first driver at JR Motorsports to win three races in a row.


With Noah Gragson leading the way with 2,051 point; Ty Gibbs, Justin Allgaier, AJ Allmendinger, Josh Berry, Austin Hill, Brandon Jones, Jeremy Clements, Sam Mayer, Daniel Hemric, Riley Herbst, and Ryan Sieg have all earned spots in the playoffs.



After a tumultuous race on Saturday night that saw numerous mechanical issues in the cars and another blown engine for Kyle Busch, the first four drivers have been eliminated from the playoffs – Cup Series champions Kevin Harvick and Kyle Busch, Austin Dillon, and Tyler Reddick.


For the first time since the advent of the playoff system, round one of 2022 was the first time that a non-playoff driver won every race in the round with Erik Jones, Bubba Wallace, and Chris Buescher all getting their first win of the season.


The points have been reset and Chase Elliott continues to lead with 3,040 – the same 40 points he has held for several weeks.


Cup Series Playoff Standings:

Chase Elliott – 3,040

Joey Logano – 3,025

Ross Chastain – 3,020

Kyle Larson – 3,019

William Byron – 3,015

Denny Hamlin – 3,015

Christopher Bell – 3,013

Ryan Blaney – 3,013

Chase Briscoe – 3,009

Alex Bowman – 3,007

Daniel Suarez – 3,007

Austin Cindric – 3,006