The next episode of “As the Wheel Turns” of the NASCAR Silly season has JR Motorsports owner Dale Earnhardt Jr naming the replacement for a driver in the number nine car after Noah Gragson was tapped to take over the driving duties for the Petty GMS number 42 car next season.


Instead of promoting one of his late model drivers to the Xfinity Series like in the past, JR has chosen Brandon Jones to take over the driving duties of the number nine next season.


Currently Jones drives the number 19 Xfinity Series car for Joe Gibbs Racing.


Speaking on Brandon Jones, JRM co-owner and general manager Kelley Earnhardt Miller said, “Brandon’s been a tough competitor over the years, and he’s a talented addition to JR Motorsports.  He’s a series veteran that brings a lot of experience, and we’re going to see big things from Brandon and the nine team in 2023.”


Currently one of the drivers set to participate in the Xfinity Series playoffs; Jones has one win, five top fives, and nine top 10’s this season.


Jones himself also spoke on his move to JRM saying, “to watch how competitive JRM has been over the years is really impressive.  They’re a threat to win every week, and one of the premier teams in our series. I’m so thankful.”         


JRM drivers have racked up a total of 10 race wins this season and over a dozen stage wins between the four drivers – Noah Gragson, Justin Allgaier, Josh Berry, and Sam Mayer. Mayer is the only driver yet to take the checkered flag.