In a heavily laden Hip-Hop list of artists and nominations, the MTV Video Music Awards will feature three hosts – Nicki Minaj, LL Cool J, and Jack Harlow.  Harlow is; along with Lil Nas X and Kendrick Lamar lead the way with seven nominations each.  Harry Styles, Dona Cat, Ed Sheeran, Billie Eilish, Drake, Dua Lipa, Tayler Swift and The Weeknd also garnered multiple nominations.

Harlow isn’t the only one pulling double duty, Nicki Minaj has been named the recipient of the Video Vanguard Award and will be performing during the show.

Jack Harlow gets the night of music started off with a performance of his song “First Class”.

Fergie takes the stage to join Harlow in a performance.

Lizzo gave a performance.

Host LL Cool J encourages the Jersey crowd to be LOUD! and be the loudest show ever.

Offset and DJ Khalid presented the first award of the night for Best Collaboration to Lil Nas X and Jack Harlow for “Industry Baby”.

Black Pink takes the VMA stage for the first time ever and their first ever America Awards show to perform their latest single “Pink Venom”.

Latin stars J Balvin and Skrillex gives a performance.

The award for Best Longform Video went to Taylor Swift for “All too Well”.

Conan Gray gives a performance from the Doritos “Push” stage which features new up and coming artists.

Kalid and Marshmello take the stage for a performance.

Late night talk show host Jimmy Fallon presented the award for Album of the Year to Harry Styles for “Harry’s House”.  Harry is at Madison Square Garden getting ready to perform.

Nicki Minaj takes the stage to perform a medley of several songs prior to receiving her Video Vanguard Award for her inspiration and ground breaking videos and music. 

Flo Milli perform on the Doritors Push Stage.

In a VMA first Snoop Dogg and Eminem join up for a performance that included a giant joint.

The award for Best K-Pop went to Lisa for “Lalisa”.

Cheech and Chong presented the Global Icon Award to the Red Hot Chili Peppers.  The band has six Grammy Awards, sold over 100 million albums, and a Super Bowl performance.  The Peppers take the stage for a performance.

The award for the Video for Good went to Lizzo for “About Damn Time”.

Making her MTV stage debut, Anitta takes the stage to perform.

JID performs on the Doritors Push Stage.

Country music star Kane Brown makes his debut MVA performance outside after “descending from a rocket”.

Back inside, Nicki Minaj introduces Ashley Graham who presents the award for Best Latin to Anitta for “Envolver”.  It is the first time that a Brazilian has every won an MTV Award.

Måneskin perform their hit song “Super Model”.

Becky G presents the award for Best Hip-Hop went to Nicki Minaj with Lil Baby on “Do We Have a Problem”.

Lauren Spencer Smith performs on the Doritos Push Stage.

The award for the Song of Summer went to Jack Harlow for “First Class”.

Nicki Minaj presented the Artist of the Year Award to Latin star Bad Bunny.  He is currently at Yankee Stadium performing.

The award for Best Rock went to the Red Hot Chili Peppers for “Black Summer”.  Band members engaged in a “thank off” for their acceptance speech.

Panic at the Disco! Give a performance.

Avril Lavigne – who received the award in 2002 – presented the award for Best New Artist to Dove Cameron.  She dedicated the award to “all the queer kids out there.”

The biggest award of the night – Video of the Year – went to Taylor Swift for “All Too Well” the 10 minute version.

Awards not presented during the live television broadcast:
Song of the Year: Billie Eilish for “Happier than Ever”
Push Performance of the Year: Seventeen for “Rock with You”
Best Pop: Harry Styles for “As it Was”
Best Alternative: Maneskin for “I Wanna Be Your Slave”
Best R&B: The Weeknd for “Out of Time”
Best Metaverse Performance: “Blackpink the Virtual”
Best Cinematography: Harry Styles for “As it Was”
Best Direction: Taylor Swift for “All too Well” the 10 minute version
Best Art Direction: Lil Nas X and Jack Harlow for “Industry Baby”
Best Visual Effects: : Lil Nas X and Jack Harlow for “Industry Baby”
Best Choreography: Doja Cat for “Woman”
Best Editing: Rosalia for “Saoko”
Group of the Year: BTS