Award season in Hollywood is over for the year, but award season on Broadway is just beginning.  On May 20 the 88th Annual Drama League Awards were presented.

Denee Benton and Andre De Shields hosted the annual event.

The Drama League Awards were first presented in 1922 and are the oldest theatrical awards in the United States.

Marianne Elliott, Kate Whoriskey, Sutton Foster, Hugh Jackman, “The Lehman Trilogy”, “A Strange Loop”, “Take Me Out”, and “Company” were among the winners.

Winners of the 2022 Drama League Awards:
Distinguished Achievement in Musical Theater: Hugh Jackman
Founders Award for Excellence in Directing: Lileana Blain-Cruz
Contribution to the Theater Award: Billy Crystal
Gratitude Award: Willette Murphy Klausner
Outstanding Production of a Play: “The Lehman Trilogy”
Outstanding Revival of a Play: “Take Me Out”
Outstanding Production of a Musical: “A Strange Loop”
Outstanding Revival of a Musical: “Company”
Outstanding Direction of a Play: Kate Whoriskey for “Clyde’s”
Outstanding Direction of a Musical: Marianne Elliott for “Company”