While the overall COVID numbers have been down in recent weeks, there are still cases popping up.  With just a few hours before the presentation of the annual Country Music Television – CMT – Awards, co-host Kelsea Ballerini learned that she has tested positive for the coronavirus.

Not wanting to miss out on the awards, Ballerini is still going to be a part of the show.  While asymptomatic, Ballerini is staying safe at home where she will perform her co-hosing duties.

Co-host Anthony Mackie will be in Nashiville to hep hand out the awards with some help from the top award nominee Kane Brown. 

The pink carpet had to be cancelled after a lightening strike.

Five time CMT Award winner Keith Urban gets the night of music started off with a performance of “Wild Hearts”.

Laney Wilson and Cole Swindell continue the music with a performance of “Never Say Never with You”…in the rain.

The CMT Awards are a fan voted event.

Little Big Town premiere their new single “Hell, Yeah” with a live performance.

On the Ram Truck stage Parker McCollum performs “To Be Loved By You”.  The Ram Truck Stage features new and aup and coming artists on the Country music scene.

The first award of the night went to Jason Aldean and Carrie Underwood with “If I Didn’t Love You” for the Collaborative Video of the Year.  Already the leading CMT Award winner in history with 23, Carrie Underwood has made it an even two dozen CMT Awards.

Carly Pearce takes the stage for a performance of “Diamond Back”.

Old Dominion take the stage outside as the CMT Awards have taken over Nashville and have stages all across the city.

Thomas Rhett and Riley Green take to the rooftop stage for a performance.

Carrie Underwood performs her new single “Ghost Story”.

Legendary rocker Billy Gibbons from ZZ Top takes the stage with Kane Brown to celebrate 20 years of the series “Crossroads”.  Jason Aldean and Bryan Adams recreated their “Crossroads” performance of “Heaven”.

Nicky Guyton takes the stage with the Black Pumas for a performance.

Priscilla Block takes the Ram Truck stage to perform “My Bar”.

The award for Breakthrough Video of the Year went to Parker McCollum for “To Be Love By You”.  McCollum noted that he has never won an award before.

Gabby Barret is up for Video of the Year Award; she takes the stage for a performance.

After enticing the world with his song “Fancy Like”, Walker Hayes takes the stage to perform his new single “AA”.

Breland takes the stage to “Praise the Lord”.

From her home, co-host Kelsea Ballerini gives a world debut performance of the new single “Heart First” from her backyard.

Maren Morris and Ryan Hurd take the stage for a performance.  The duo are not just a couple on the stage, they are a married couple.

Jessie James Decker takes the Ram Truck stage for a performance of “Should Have Known Better”.

George Strait won his first CMT Award for Performance of the Year with “Is Anybody Goin’ to San Antone” as a tribute to Charley Pride.

Cody Johnson performs out on Broadway.

Country music legend Martina McBride presents the award for Female Video of the Year to Miranda Lambert for “If I Was a Cowboy”.

For the first time in 20 years, Naomi and Wynona Judd have reunited for a performance  The mother/daughter duo will soon be embarking on a farewell tour.

Gabby Barrett and Dustin Lynch present the award for Duo or Group Video of the Year to Maddie and Tae for “Woman You Got”.

Making the debut appearance together Jimmie Allen, Monica, and Little Big Town take the stage for a performance of “Pray”.

The award for Male Video of the Year went to Cody Johnson for “Til You Can’t”.

Elvie Shane takes the Ram Truck stage for a performance of “My Boy”.

Co-host Kane Brown takes the stage outside the Country Music Hall of Fame for a performance of his hit “One Mississippi”.

Caitlyn Smith takes the Ram Truck stage to perform her song “High”.

CMT Video of the Year winner Miranda Lambert takes the stage for a performance of her award winning song “If I Was a Cowboy”.

In the final award of the night, the winner of the Video of the Year award is Jason Aldean and Carrie Underwood for “If I Didn’t Love You”.  Aldean noted that it was the first time in 17 years that he won the Video of the Year award.

Eight time CMT award winner Kenny Chesney closes out the night of music with a performance of “Another Beer in Mexico”.