The name of Petty has been a part of stock car racing nearly as long as NASCAR itself.

Over the years Richard Petty Motorsports has been run under a variety of names including Petty Enterprises.  Team owner Richard Petty – also known as The King – is a seven time NASCAR champion who has won a total of 200 Cup Series wins during his career.

On December 1, 2021 Petty announced that he has sold a majority stake in his team to Maury Gallagher of GMS Racing.  The sale includes two charters which will be used during the 2022 NASCAR season.

In a statement Petty and Gallagher said, “this is a special moment for both organizations as the Next Gen car allows a new chapter to be written.”

Ty Dillon is scheduled to drive the GMS Racing number 94 car for the 2022 season.

Erik Jones drives the iconic number 43 car for Richard Petty Motorsports.  In the past AJ Allmendinger, Kasey Kahne, Elliott Sadler, Reed Sorenson, Aric Almirola, Paul Menard, Marcos Ambrose, Sam Hornish Jr., Brian Scott, and Bubba Wallace have all driven the number 43 car for Petty.

feature photo credit: [[File:Richard petty (51370771398).jpg|Richard_petty_(51370771398)]]