With Cup Series driver Brad Keselowski left Team Penske and joined Roush Fenway Racing, a new era began at the racing shop owned by long time owner Jack Roush.

Keselowski will not only take over the driving duties in the number six car; but is also, listed as part owner of the team where he will oversee the competition department.  Roush Fenway Racing has been renamed RFK Racing – Roush Fenway Keselowski Racing.  Chris Buescher in the number 17 car is the second RFK Racing driver.

RFK Racing president Steve Newmark spoke on Keselowski’s joining the team saying, “Brad and I talked about it, he said we want this to be the perfect balance between paying homage to our history and our lineage and all the accomplishments that the team’s done, but also at the same time signifying that it is a new world order.  That sounds very simple, when you just say it as a soundbite. It’s a lot harder to do when you start trying to incorporate that. So whether we got it exactly right, time will tell, but I think our intent is to really signify that this is kind of the next evolution the next step in our organization, but we’re not going to lose our roots.”

A member of the NASCAR Hall of Fame, Jack Roush who is 79 years old has owned the racing team since 1988.  While not looking to step away from racing just yet, he is looking to step back just a bit saying, “I’ll be able to back away some and to not go to all the races and not be the first one on top of the pit box and the last one in my car to go home as I’ve been in the past for most of my time.  I enjoy passing the baton to Brad. Steve questioned me if I was really willing to do that and I said, ‘Well, as long as I can keep one hand on it for a while, it will work for me.’ ”

As an owner, Roush has amassed a total of 325 race wins.  Keselowski noted that with a total of 75 wins, he has a lot of catching up to do.

This is not Keselowski’s first foray into ownership; from 2008 to 2017 he was the owner of Brad Keselowski Racing which fielded a two truck team in the Camping World Truck Series.