While the 30 Major League Baseball team owners meet to discuss the future of the MLB, The League continues to pass out awards to its players.

A golden glove award is given to the best player at each position in each of the leagues – American and National; but the Platinum Gove Award is given to just one player in each league – the best defensive player.

On November 12, Houston Astros shortstop Carlos Correa and St. Louis Cardinals third base player Nolan Arendao were each presented with the Platinum Gove Award.  This was the first Platinum Glove Award for Correa – he also earned his first Golde Glove Award earlier this week.  But for Arenado it was his fifth Platinum Glove Award.  Arenado’s previous Platinum Glove Awards were presented while he played for the Colorado Rockies.

The Houston Astros and the St. Louis Cardinals were also named as Gold Glove Team Award winners.

While the Gold and Platinum Glove Awards honour defensive play; the Silver Slugger Award is given to players for their offensive prowess with the bat.

On November 11, MLB presented the Silver Slugger Awards to 18 players.

The World Series champion Atlanta Braves lead the list with four players.  Eight players earned their first Silver Slugger Award.

The 2021 Silver Slugger Award winners:
Toronto Blue Jays Vladimir Guerrero – first win
Atlanta Braves Freddie Freeman – third win
Toronto Blue Jays Marcus Semien – first win
Atlanta Braves Ozzie Albies – second win
Boston Red Sox Xander Bogaerts – fourth win
San Diego Padres Fernando Tatis Jr – second win
Boston Red Sox Rafael Devers – first win
Atlanta Braves Austin Riley – first win
Kansas City Royals Salvador Perez – fourth win
San Francisco Giants Buster Posey – fifth win
Toronto Blue Jays Teoscar Hernandez – second win
New York Yankees Aaron Judge – second win
Baltimore Orioles Cedric Mullins – first win
Washington Nationals Juan Soto – second win
Philadelphia Phillies Bryce Harper – second win
Cincinnati Reds Nick Castellanos – first win
Los Angeles Angles Shohei Ohtani – first win
Atlanta Braves Max Fried – first win