For over 30 years the NASCAR Cup Series’ Most Popular Driver has had the last name of Elliott or Earnhardt.

On November 9, the National Motorsports Press Association has announced that the voting for the 2021 Most Popular Driver is now open.  Voting runs through December 1 at noon.

NASCAR fans have a variety of ways to cast their votes and may do so once each day.  Go to, the NASCAR mobile app or share their votes on Facebook and Twitter.  Sharing on social media earns double votes.

All Cup Series drivers who were regulars during the season and rank in the top 32 of the Cup Series point standings are eligible. 

The winning driver will be announced as a part of the Cup Series Awards ceremonies on December 2.

The Most Popular Driver Award was first presented in 1949 to Curtis Turner.  The MMPA has presented the award annually since 1983.

NASCAR Hall of Fame driver Bill Elliott holds the record for the most awards with 16.  Dale Earnhardt Jr comes in second with 15.  The 2020 champion Chase Elliott has won the award for the past three years.

The NMPA also presents the Richard Petty Driver of the Year Award, the Meyers Brothers Award, the NMPA Pocono Spirit Award, and the Wood Brothers Award of Excellence.