The Indoor Football League begins its season once the NFL has concluded and runs through the summer with the championship game just before the NFL gets started once again.

Earlier this week the IFL Board of Directors voted unanimously and have announced that they were terminating the Louisville Xtreme team’s membership due to a failure to “meet and maintain league obligations”.

IFL Commissioner Todd Tryon spoke on the matter saying, “this is a regrettable situation, but as our league continues to generate positive momentum this became a necessary action. We have tremendous respect for Victor Cole and his partners in Louisville and the hard work they put into developing Louisville as a viable IFL franchise. However, as we position the IFL for long-term success, it is imperative that we maintain the high standards we have set as a league”.

The Louisville Xtreme has had their games removed from the schedule.

With the elimination of the Louisville Xtreme, the IFL has a total of 15 teams – Arizona Rattlers, Bismark Bucks, Columbus Wild Dogs, Duke City Gladiators, Frisco Fighters, Green Bay Blizzard, Iowa Barnstormers, Massachusetts Pirates, Sioux Falls Storm, Spokane Shock, Tucson Sugar Skulls, Cedar Rapids River Kings, Quad City Steamwheelers, Oakland Panthers, and the San Diego Strike Force.

In its 13th season, the IFL is the longest running indoor football league in the United States.