During the Buschy McBusch 400 at Kansas Speedway on May 1 Denny Hamlin’s team reported that the crew had gotten only three of the five lug nuts on one of his wheels properly secured.  The team chose to continue on in the race with no penalty.

However, once the race was completed during the post-race inspection process NASCAR officials found three cars with improperly secured lug nuts.

The crew chiefs on each of the teams has been fined $10,000 for the infraction.

The three teams charged with the penalty are:
The number one Chip Ganassi Racing car driven by Kurt Busch with Matt McCall as crew chief
The number 17 Roush Fenway Racing car driven by Chris Buescher with Luke Lambert as crew chief
The number 22 Team Penske car driven by Joey Logano with Paul Wolfe as crew chief

In other NASCAR news, Camping World Truck Series engineer Jonathan Stewart for the number 21 GMS Racing team has been reinstated after he has completed the “Road to Recovery” program.  Stewart was suspended on March 16 after he violated the Substance Abuse Policy.