The NAACP Image Awards has inducted comedian and actor Eddie Murphy into their Hall of Fame as a part of the Image Awards ceremonies on March 27.

After being inducted into the Hall of Fame by friend and fellow actor Arsenio Hall, Murphy said, “I’ve been making movies for 40 years now … 40 years. This is the perfect thing to commemorate that and be brought into the hall of fame,” he said. “Thank you very much. I’m very moved.”

Inductees to the Image Awards Hall of Fame are selected for their influence and how they are shaping their “profession for generations to come”.

Murphy joins an impressive group of fellow inductees including Oprah Winfrey, Stevie Wonder, Ray Charles, Spike Lee, Sidney Portier, Cheryl Boone Isaacs, and Paris Barclay.

After beginning his career as a stand up comic while still a teenager, Murphy’s resume includes “Saturday Night Live”, “48 Hours”, “Coming to America”, “Beverly Hills Cop”, “The Nutty Professor”, “Dr. Dolittle”, “Dolemite is My Name”, and “Coming 2 America”.

The annual Image Awards ceremonies honour athletes and entertainers of colour.  Comedian and actor Anthony Anderson hosted the gala event for the eighth year.

In a posthumous award, Chadwick Boseman was awarded the award for Best Actor with his widow accepting.

Viola Davis won the Actress of the Year Award.

The President’s Award went to Los Angeles Lakers star LeBron James for his work off the basketball court.

After helping to entertain people during the lockdown, DJ D-Nice was presented with the Entertainer of the Year Award.

And former First Lady Michelle Obama presented the Social Justice Impact Award to Congresswoman Stacey Abrams for her work against social injustice during the last presidential election.

feature photo credit: By David Shankbone – Eddie Murphy, CC BY 2.0,