Delayed by the global pandemic, the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame Foundation released the nominees for the 2021 Rock and Roll Hall of Fame on February 10.

Along with the professional committee – musicians, industry members, and historians – who select the inductees each year, the fans can also cast their votes for who they would like to see inducted into the Hall of Fame at  Voting is open until April 30.  The top five fan voted nominees will have their names included in consideration for the final decision.

Sixteen rock and rollers have been selected to the final round before the induction announcement in May.  While an artist becomes eligible for The Hall 25 years after their first release; some of the nominees on this year’s list have been entertaining fans for over 40 years.

The nominees for the 2021 Class of the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame are:
Mary J Blige
Kate Bush
Foo Fighters – first time nominee
The Go-Go’s – first time nominee
Iron Maiden – first time nominee
Jay-Z -first time nominee
Chaka Khan
Carole King – first time nominee as a performer
Fela Kuti – first time nominee
LL Cool J
New York Dolls
Rage Against the Machine
Todd Rundgren
Tina Turner
and Dionne Warwick – first time nominee

Rock and Roll Hall of Fame Foundation Chairman John Sykes spoke on the nominees saying, “this remarkable ballot reflects the diversity and depth of the artists and music the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame celebrates. These Nominees have left an indelible impact on the sonic landscape of the world and influenced countless artists that have followed them.”

Tina Turner is already a member of The Hall as a part of Ike and Tina Turner; while Carole King is a member under the songwriter category.  To date, Stevie Nicks is the only female in the Hall of Fame twice – once as a part of Fleetwood Mac and again as a solo artist.

An artist’s musical influence, career, and their body of work are all considered when selecting the next class of Hall of Famers.

The new class of Hall of Famers will be announced in May with the induction ceremony slated for this fall at the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame in Cleveland.