While Washington D.C. lends lip service to unity and bringing the country back together; racers from 26 countries and the major racing series from around the world, some dozen car manufacturers, and hundreds of crew and teams members came together on January 30 and 31 for the 59th annual Rolex 24 Hours at Daytona endurance race.

Teams of three and four drivers put their egos aside and came together for a full day of racing.

After a bit of a messy start and three full course caution flags, the race settled down as the sun began to set for a long stint of green flag racing.  Overall, the race had a total of 12 full course caution flags.

In the end, it came down to tenths of a second when Filipe Albuquerque brought the Wayne Taylor Racing number 10 Acura ARX-15 across the finish line to give WTR its third Rolex 24 win in as many years.

The multi-national team of Albuquerque, Ricky Taylor, Alexander Rossi, and Helio Castroneves shared driving duties of the number 10 car in the Daytona Prototype International category.

This year the Rolex 24 featured five classes of cars – the Dpi, LMP2, GTD, GTLM, and the newest category of LMP3.

Finishing sixth overall, the number 18 ORECE with Kyle Tilley, Dwight Merriman, Paul-Loup Chatin, and Ryan Dalziel behind the wheel took top prize in the LMP2 class.

Keeping it in the family, Jordan Taylor; along with fellow drivers Nicky Catsburg,  and Antonio Garcia brought the number three Corvette to victory in the GTLM class.

The number 74 Riley Motorsports Ligier with Gar Robinson, Spencer Pigot, Scott Andrews, and Oliver Askew sharing the driving duties led the way in the new LMP3 class.

In the GTD class, Russell Ward, Philip Ellis, Indy Dontje, and Maro Engel brought the number 57 Winward Racing Mercedes to victory in their Rolex 24 debut.

Winners in each class win a Rolex watch.

Nearly 200 drivers came together from NASCAR, IndyCar, and Formula1 for the annual race that kicks off the IMSA racing season.  Between them the drivers hold 50 championships.

Other NASCAR drivers who participated in the 24 hour endurance race were, seven time champion Jimmie Johnson whose Dpi number 48 finished the race in second place overall.

Reigning NASCAR champion Chase Elliott’s number 31 car had mechanical issues that put them behind the wall for several laps.  The team finished the race eighth overall and sixth in class.

The number 51 RWR-Eurasia Ligier with Austin Dillon as one of the team members finished 10th overall and fourth in the LMP2 class.

Serving double duty as a commentator for NBC Sports and as a driver in the number 60 Meyer Shank Racing Acura, AJ Allmendinger came in fourth overall and fourth in the Dpi class.