The Covid-19 pandemic may have temporarily halted live in person music performances; but it cannot stop the music. And for these eight artists and music industry essentials were inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame via avideo taped ceremony – Depeche Mode, The Doobie Brothers, Whitney Houston, Nine Inch Nails, The Notorious B.I.G., T. Rex, Jon Landau, and Irving Azoff.

Along with inducting Whitney Houston, Alicia Keys gave a performance. Before her death in 2012 at age 48, Houston earned numerous awards including having three of her albums certified with the Diamond Award for selling at least 10 million copies in the United Sates by the RIAA – Recording Industry Association of America. Houston’s mother Cissy and aunt Pat Houston accepted the award in Houston’s honour.

Also in a posthumous induction, Sean “Diddy” Combs inducted rapper the Notorious B.I.G. who died in 1997 at age 24. During his short career B.I.G. became one of the top rap music artists and helped to pave the way for future generations. Biggie’s children C.J. And T’yanna accepted the award in his honour.

T. Rex creator Mark Bolan died in 1977 at age 29; his son Rolan spoke on his father; but it was Sir Ringo Starr that inducted the British rock band into the Hall of Fame.

Inducted on their first year of eligibility, The Doobie Brothers celebrate 50 years of making music this year. The rockers had planned a tour that would feature Michael McDonald; but had to postpone events due to the pandemic.

Hard rockers Nine Inch Nails features two Emmy Award winning artists in the group with Trent Reznor and Atticus Ross; who are also Oscar and Grammy Award winners. An induction into the Hall of Fame is icing on the award winning cake for the band.

Actress Charlize Theron inducted the British synth pop band Depeche Mode to finish out this year’s musical inductees.

Completing the class of 2020 inductees are music managers Irving Azoff and Jon Landau being honoured with the Ahmet Ertegun Award.

Luke Bryan, Miley Cyrus, Billy Gibbons, Dave Grohl, Don Henley, Jennifer Hudson, Billy Idol, Iggy Pop, Adam Levine, Chris Martin, Lin-Manuel Miranda, Brad Paisley, Bruce Springsteen, St. Vincent, Gwen Stafani, and Ann Wilson were also among those paying tribute to the 2020 class of Rock Hall inductees.

Next month the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame will reveal a new class of inductees.