MLB Releases Gold Glove Winners & Award Finalists

Now that the 2020 Major League Baseball season has concluded with the Los Angeles Dodgers winning the World Series, MLB has turned to presenting the annual awards.

On November 3, the MLB presented the Gold Glove Awards to players who have shown outstanding prowess on the field in their defensive play.

In his final year in the league, left fielder for the Kansas City Royals Alex Gordon has earned his eighth Gold Glove and fourth in a row.

Catcher for the Cleveland Indians Roberto Perez; along with Gordon, were the only players in the American League to repeat as winners.

First time Americal League Gold Glove winners are:
Cleveland Indians second baseman Cesar Hernandez
Seattle Mariners first baseman Evan White
Seattle Mariners shortstop JP Crawford
Texas Rangers third baseman Isiah Kiner-Falefa
Texas Rangers right fielder Joey Gallo
Chicago White Sox center fielder Luis Robert
Los Angeles Angels pitcher Griffin Canning.

In the National League…
Chicago Cubs first baseman Anthony Rizzo
St. Louis Cardinals second baseman Kolten Wong
Chicago Cubs shortstop Javier Baez
Colorado Rockies third baseman Nolan Arenado
St Louis Cardinals left fielder Tyler O’Neill
San Diego Padres center fielder Trent Grisham
Los Angeles Dodgers right fielder Mookie Betts
Cincinnati Reds catcher Tucker Barnhart
Atlanta Braves pitcher Max Fried

The finalists for the Cy Young, Rookie of the Year, Most Valuable Player, and Manager of the Year awards have also been revealed. Winners of these awards are decidedby the Baseball Writhers Association of America.

In the Most Valuable Player category the finalists are Mookie Betts of the Los Angeles Dodgers, Freddie Freeman of the Atlanta Braves, and Manny Machado of the San Diego Padres from the National League. The American League finalists are Jose Abreu of the ChicagoWhite Sox, DJ LeMahieu of the New York Yankees, and Jose Ramierz of the Cleveland Indians.

In the battle for the Cy Young Award for the best pitcher, the finalists are Shane Bieber of the Cleveland Indians, Kenta Maeda of the Minnisota Twins, and Hyun Jin Ryu of the Toronto Blue Jays. The National League finalists are Trevor Bauer of the Cincinnati Reds, Yu Darvish of the Chicago Cubs, and Jacob deGrom of the New York Mets.

Finalists for the Jackie Robinson Rookie of the Year Award are Alec Bohm of the Philadelphia Phillies, Jake Cronenworth of the San Diego Padres, and Devin Williams of the Milwaukee Brewers in the National League and Cristian Javier of the Houston Astros, Kyle Lewis of the Seattle Mariners, and Luis Robert of the Chicago White Sox.

The Manager of the Year Award finalists are KevinCash of the Tampa Bay Rays, Charlie Montoyo of the Toronto Blue Jays, and Rick Renteria of the Chicago White Sox in the American League. The National League Manager of the Year finalists are Don Mattingly of the Miami Marlins, David Ross of the Chicago Cubs, and Jayce Tingler of the San Diego Padres.

Leave a Reply