The annual NASCAR All Star race is usually held the week before the Coca-Cola 600 at what is the home track for many of the drivers – Charlotte Motor Speedway.  But with the Covid-19 pandemic and the resumption of races only one week prior to the All Star race, NASCAR postponed to later in the season.

It was announced last month that the All Star race would make a a road trip this year and be held in Thunder Valley at Bristol Motor Speedway on July 14 – a Wednesday night.

On June 30, NASCAR released the details about the format for the race.

A popular rule in short track races, NASCAR is adopting the “Choose Rule” for the All Star race.  Normally in a NASCAR race, only the leader has the option to select in which lane he wishes to restart the race.  A short track itself a half a mile, the rule will make its debut at Bristol and allow drivers to choose their lane on race restarts.

NASCAR executive vice president and chief racing development officer Steve O’Donnell noted that drivers and fans alike have been asking for some changes; adding, “I can’t think of a better time to try it than the all-star race.”

Executive vice president and general manager of Bristol Motor Speedway Jerry Caldwell spoke on the race saying, “this NASCAR All-Star Race under the bright lights of Bristol is setting up to be a memorable event for ages to come.  With a million dollar payout and no championship points on the line in this all out high-banked short track clash, it’s surely going to be a race that fans will not want to miss.”

The race will consist of four stages of 55, 35, 35, and 15 laps with all laps counting – green and yellow flag – in the first three stages and only the green flag laps counting in stage four.  As in normal races, there is no limit to the number of green/white/checker overtime finishes the race can have.

The night of racing will begin with the NASCAR Open with three segments – 35, 35, and 15 laps.  Winners of each stage will move on to run in the All Star race.

The winner of the fan vote will also run in the main race.

Drivers currently eligible to run in the All Star Race include any driver who has won a points racing event in 2019 or 2020, previous All Star race winners currently driving full time, and full time drivers who have won a NASCAR Championship.

Eligible drivers so far are:
Ryan Blaney
Alex Bowman
Kurt Busch
Kyle Busch
Chase Elliott
Justin Haley
Denny Hamlin
Kevin Harvick
Jimmie Johnson
Erik Jones
Matt Kenseth
Brad Keselowski
Joey Logano
Ryan Newman
Martin Truex Jr.

Drivers eligible for the fan vote:
Aric Almirola
Christopher Bell
Clint Bowyer
Chris Buescher
William Byron
Cole Custer
Matt DiBenedetto
Austin Dillon
Ty Dillon
Joey Gase
Timmy Hill
Quin Houff
Corey LaJoie
Michael McDowell
BJ McLeod
John Hunter Nemechek
Ryan Preece
Brennan Poole
Tyler Reddick
Ricky Stenhouse Jr
Daniel Suarez
Reed Sorenson
Bubba Wallace
JJ Yeley

Fans may cast their vote for their favourite driver at

The All Star race will open to fans.  Tickets are currently on sale beginning at $35 for adults and $10 for children 12 and under.  Fans may purchase tickets at  NASCAR is also offering a limited number of RV spots.

Fans attending the race must wear face coverings.  No coolers will be allowed inside the track, but clear plastic bags will be allowed.