The Covid-19 virus has turned the world upside down this past several months, but some things go on; such as celebrations and Hall of Fame ceremonies.

In January the NASCAR Hall of Fame inducted a new class of members.  Now the Hall of Fame preparing to add a few more names to the prestigious list of past drivers, crew members, owners, and officials who make up the NASCAR Hall of Fame in Charlotte, North Carolina.

In past years, five nominees moved on to become a new inductee; this year, only three new members will be named.

A total of 15 nominees have been released – 10 from the Modern Era and five from the Pioneer era.  Two names will be chosen from the Modern Era and one name from the Pioneer Era.

The list of nominees for the 2021 class of the NASCAR Hall of Fame are:
Neil Bonnett
Jeff Burton
Dale Earnhardt JR
Carl Edwards
Harry Gant
Harry Hyde
Larry Phillips
Ricky Rudd
Kirk Shelmerdine
Mike Stefanik
Jake Elder
Red Farmer
Banjo Matthews
Hershel McGriff
Ralph Moody

Nominees for the Landmark Award are:
Janet Guthrie
Alvin Hawkins
Mike Helton
Dr. Joseph Mattioli
Ralph Seagraves

Should Dale Earnhardt Jr become a member of the Hall of Fame on his first year of eligibility, he will join his father Dale Earnhardt Sr who was voted into the Hall on its inaugural year in 2010.

Pioneer era nominee Red Farmer and Modern era nominees Mike Stefanik and Dale Earnhardt Jr have all been selected as the newest members of the NASCAR Hall of Fame.  Dale Jr led the ballots with 76 percent of the vote.