Although the ceremony isn’t scheduled until July, the Major League Baseball Hall of Fame has cancelled the 2020 Hall of Fame induction ceremony that would officially add Derek Jeter, Larry Walker, Ted Simmons, and Marvin Miller into the Hall of Fame.

Hawk Harrelson, Nick Cafardo, and David Montgomery were also scheduled to be honoured during the induction ceremonies.

The Hall of Fame made the announcement on April 29 that due to the Covid-19 virus, they would be putting the 2020 induction ceremonies in Cooperstown, New York on hold.

The Hall of Fame has announced that the 2020 inductees will be inducted along with the inductees for 2021.

In a statement former New York Yankee Derek Jeter spoke on the decision saying, “being inducted into the Hall of Fame will be an incredible honor, but the health and safety of everyone involved are paramount.”

Larry Walker also issued a statement saying, “I fully understand and agree with the board’s decision.  It is most important to do the right thing for everybody involved, and that means not putting any participants in jeopardy.”

This will mark the first time in 60 years that the Hall of Fame has not held an induction ceremony.

Closed since March 15, the Hall of Fame was expecting record crowds this summer to see Jeter and the other inductees enshrined into the Hall of Fame.

Hall of Fame vice chairman of the board Joe Morgan also spoke on the decision saying, “it was a very difficult decision, but with so many unknowns facing the world, the board felt strongly that this was the right decision.”