On April 7, NASCAR released the nominees for the 2021 class of inductees into the NASCAR Hall of Fame.

This year’s class of nominees includes one of the sport’s the most popular drivers, five first time eligible nominees, and thee NASCAR championships.

The list of 15 nominees features 10 modern era nominees and five Pioneer nominees.

In the modern era; new nominees Carl Edwards and NBC broadcasters Jeff Burton and Dale Earnhardt Jr will join Neil Bonnett, Harry Gant, Harry Hyde, Larry Phillips, Ricky Rudd, Kirk Shelmerdine, and Mike Stefanik on the ballot for induction.

And in the pioneer category; champion crew chief Jake Elder, car builder Banjo Matthews join Red Farmer, Hershel McGriff and Ralph Moody as Hall of Fame nominees.

Janet Guthrie, Alvin Hawkins, Mike Helton, Dr. Joseph Mattioli, and Ralph Seagraves have all been nominated for the Landmark Award. Nominees for the Landmark Award include drivers and non drivers.

The nominees from the modern era and one pioneer will be selected to join the Hall of Fame next year.